Five New Members Join IFA Board

By: IFA Staff

Members at the IFA annual meeting last Fall elected five directors to the board:?janet4-1

Janet Hollis (Zionsville, Boone County): Janet is a retired teacher with a history of concern for Indiana’s forests. ?With her parents she was acive in CCNRA (Citizens Concerned about the Nebo Ridge Area) in the late 70’s which sought to protect private property rights in the establishments of the Deam Wilderness. ?Janet has served on the boards of several major environmental organizations in Indiana.




Todd Stewart (Scottsburg, Scott County): Todd is an avid hiker who lives near the Knobstone Trail and is deeply disturbed by the rampant logging affecting so many of Indiana’s trails. ?Todd appreciates IFA’s common-sense approach. ?As a board member, he will contribute his leadership experience as a funeral director, bank contractor, bank director, and YMCA director.



Chris Marks (Poland, Owen County): With a Ph.D. in Life Science (Ecology) from Indiana State University, Chris is a professor emerita of Equine Science at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College. ?A life-long horsewoman, endurance competitor, author, and archer, Chris sees the forest ecosystem as a community and not a commodity.



Bill Hurley Jr. (Memphis, Clark County): Bill moved to Indiana in 1993 to be near the Knobstone Trail. ?As a father and grandfather, he is deeply interested in preserving Indiana forests for future generations. Now retired from the practice of law, Bill would like to work to slow down the destruction of our forests.



simcox-canoe-blue-riverDr. P. David Simcox (Bloomington, Monroe County): Dave and his wife Ruth moved to Bloomington in 2013. ?He enjoys Indiana’s woodlands, volunteers with the Hoosier Hikers Council and is a member of the Sycamore Land Trust. ?Having witnessed the impact of logging on Indiana’s state forests, Dave is committed to seeing conservation serve as a cornerstone of forest management.


Outgoing board members Mary Kay Rothert, Natalie Colbert and Mary Bookwalter were thanked for their dedicated years of service and leadership in the name of Indiana’s forests.